Ian Benfold Haywood, male, 63

Ref 48398

Nationality: United Kingdom
Currently based in: Chester , United Kingdom
Looking for: Caribbean; Mediterranean & Black Sea;
Experience: 500 ocean miles / 1500 coastal miles
Hello My name is Ian. I have a passion for sailing and love to sail my Laser 420 in Cannes. This I believe gives me a better understanding of winds and trimming your sails. I have recently helped prepare a Harmony 42 and sailed it from Roses in Northern Spain to Gran Canaria. During the trip I was chef and surprised myself how well I coped. We even had fresh bread everyday, from whole meal loaves to focaccia and sesame buns. The meals were ambitious and the crew of three looked forward to eat meal. It boosted our spirits on some grumpy seas. Then just as a crew of three we sailed the Atlantic to Martinique. We had bad weather from the start, the boat developed problems daily and we were severely challenged. However we showed great resilience and ingenuity. With winds of 15-35 knots and an average wave of 4 metres we crossed in an incredible 17 days, 4 hours and 15 minutes. I also like the stories and literature around the sea. I am by training and artist, educator and illustrator of children’s books. I am also a partner in a cleaning business based in Chester with a staff of 80. Although being 62 years of age I am fit and healthy. Keeping myself in shape is important. I don’t smoke, enjoy the occasional glass of wine these days and am a bit of a foodie with a leaning towards vegetarian. My mental health is very excellent and I’m a happy person. My nature is quiet and thoughtful but I do enjoy the company and conversation of others. We have hit a serious problem with the rudder and the boat needs to go into dry dock for repairs. Now it’s not possible for us to continue on the Atlantic crossing. I am looking for myself but there are also two other very valuable crew members available. I can vouch for Pedro and Aritz as totally reliable, good honest and very hard working men. Thank you for taking the time to read through my profile. Ian
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements: I have a good appetite. Enjoy most foods but prefer meals cooked from scratch.
Languages: English; French;
Social Links:

Ian’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 4 to 9
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 500 / Coastal: 1500
Nights at sea: 11-49
I have experience as: Crew
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
brought to you by