Doug Ryan, male, 66

Ref 8665

Nationality: Canada
Currently based in: Wiarton, Canada
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 14000 ocean miles / 20000 coastal miles
Have been sailing since I was 6 weeks old. Married for 41 years. Two adult children. Retired as a police detective twelve years ago. Just getting into kiteboarding for a new challenge and to keep the fun factor at the max each and every day.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements: I try not to eat too much. :)
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Doug’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 14000 / Coastal: 20000
Nights at sea: 50+
I have experience as: Watch Leader
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using a sextant for astro-navigationx
Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex
Outboard engine maintenancex
Repairing or making sailsx
Using radarx
brought to you by