Hans de Zwart, male, 43

Ref 37513

Nationality: Netherlands
Currently based in: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 910 ocean miles / 140 coastal miles
CURRENTLY NOT AVAILABLE FOR CREWING OPPORTUNITIES Hello, my name is Hans de Zwart and I am 43 years old. Few things in life make me happier than being on a sailing boat. For the past six years, I have been the director of a small Dutch independent non-profit (Bits of Freedom), advocating for privacy and freedom of communication on the internet. Before that, I was an educational technology and innovation specialist, and I started my career as a Physical Education teacher at a high school. I’ve recently finished a Master’s in philosophy. I am playful, responsible, emotionally stable, and I pull my weight. I’ve seen quite a bit of the world, eat everything, don’t smoke, and can get along with anybody. I love reading, enjoy cooking and food, am a certified (advanced) scuba diver, and can never watch enough documentaries. In 2020 I will travel for a full year with my girlfriend. The best start of my year would be to join a boat, crossing the Atlantic from East, sailing west, and landing wherever the boat goes. It would just be me by myself. I’ll meet up with my girlfriend on that side of the world (in Curaçao most likely). Most of my sailing experience is sailing with my uncle in the Caribbean. This was mostly trips from Antigua down the isles (to the Grenadines), with some occasional day racing (in cruising class most of the time). I can’t remember ever getting seasick. I have crewed for about 1.000 miles, mostly between Saint Martin and the Grenadines. I’ve recently completed an RYA Competent Crew course in preparation for a crossing. My best sailing memories are from a trip from Antigua to Saint Martin and back. First ‘surfing’ the waves on the run on the way there. And then seeing the cat pick the flying fish from the front deck at night on the way back. 🐟🐈 I am available from January 1st 2020 and can fly from Amsterdam to either the Canary Islands or to Cape Verde. I am quite flexible in how long the trip can take, but would prefer to hit the other side by the end of February the latest. If needed, I can of course chip in with some of the costs. Alternatively, I am a capable web developer and could help you set up a site for your boat or your business. My preference would be to make the crossing in a monohull (>36 feet), but I am flexible with that too.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: partnered
Dietary requirements: I have no dietary restrictions.
Languages: English; Dutch, trying to learn Spanish!
Social Links:


Hans’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 910 / Coastal: 140
Nights at sea: 1-10
I have experience as: Crew
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox

Other nautical or relevant qualifications

Qualification Awarding Level Year
Competent Crew RYA 2019
Advanced Open Water Diver (+ enriched air) PADI 2015

Voyage History

Date Boat From/To Miles Role # Crew Rally
2019 42 foot cruiser Amsterdam/around North Holland 140 Student 6
1996 42 foot cruiser Antigua/The Grenadines (and back) 560 Crew 6
1994 32 foot cruiser Antigua/Guadeloupe (and back) 150 Crew 5
1994 36 foot cruiser Antigua/St. Maarten (and back) 180 Crew 2
brought to you by