Hank Onthewater, male, 67

Ref 38045

Nationality: Netherlands
Currently based in: Albany, Australia
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 10000 ocean miles / 5000 coastal miles
Sailing since I was kid, only last 25 years in ocean going boats. I am qualified/accredited instructor for keelboats, power boats, and instructor for sea rescue skippers. Have my own 53 ft ketch, but looking for opportunities once or twice a year to assist owners doing passages or deliveries, happy to be crew or skipper. Still work as nurse manager in (charge of) a hospital, and occasionally involved in crewing on a film set, either as a nurse or as marine coordinator.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status:
Dietary requirements: none
Languages: English; French; German; dutch
Social Links:


Hank’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 10000 / Coastal: 5000
Nights at sea: 50+
I have experience as: Instructor (Ocean Sailing)
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex
Outboard engine maintenancex
Repairing or making sailsx
Using radarx
brought to you by