Gemma Worboys, female, 38

Ref 37912

Nationality: United Kingdom
Currently based in: london, United Kingdom
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 550 ocean miles / 6000 coastal miles
Hola! Having sailed since I was a child on Charter yachts, I am at the beginning of making this a full time career, so therefore I have completed my basic safety training necessary to work on vessels. I have grown up sailing (recreational) and have done loads of dinghy sailing and racing when I was younger and also sailed on yachts both monohull and catamaran. I recently did a week's sailing as crew on a catana 471 which included 3 night sails with 2hr rotation on watch, and 2 anchors within the timeline of a week. I would say I am proficient at doing a night watch and know the basic rules of the road and lights. Saying that, in all honesty I do have a lot more to learn, but this will come with experience. I am fully capable of coastal sailing and know all the knots, how to moore and med moore, reef, how to read the weather and everything you should need to know whilst on a yacht at sea. My passion is to work as crew on sailing yachts (the size in not necessarily important). I've also done some maintenance such as varnishing so I am also happy to work as a deckhand if the position were suitable. However I am preferably looking for work as crew. I am super keen to find the right place and people to take me on my next journey. I absolutely love travelling, meeting new people, cooking, love the sea, fishing, love the mountains. Just generally an outdoors kind of girl who likes to explore new possibilities and challenges. More than happy to get stuck in with anything that comes my way.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: single
Dietary requirements:
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Gemma’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 550 / Coastal: 6000
Nights at sea: 11-49
I have experience as: Watch Leader
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using a sextant for astro-navigationx
Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex
Repairing or making sailsx
Using radarx

Other nautical or relevant qualifications

Qualification Awarding Level Year
ENG1 medical 2019
STWC UKSA Basic 2019

Voyage History

Date Boat From/To Miles Role # Crew Rally
2019 Caramaran Catana 471 Valencia/Gibraltar 427 Crew 4
2019 Monohul, Vagabond 39. double ended pilot house December 9th 2019/January 1st 2020 1300 Watch-leader 3 none
brought to you by