John Offord, male, 67

Ref 30837

Nationality: United Kingdom
Currently based in: Kirkhill, United Kingdom
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 8000 ocean miles / 10000 coastal miles
I am a fit active retired professional and spend most of my time outdoors sailing, hill walking or skiing. I have owned my own sailing boat for over 40 years. I have extensive sailing experience in everything from dinghies to offshore cruisers but particularly multihulls having owned a cruiser/racer catamaran for 25 years. I have cruised and raced offshore in catamarans and trimarans. My current boat is a 40'monohull which I have sailed from Palma, Mallorca to Scotland this summer.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status:
Dietary requirements: none
Languages: English;
Social Links:


John’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 8000 / Coastal: 10000
Nights at sea: 50+
I have experience as: Captain (Offshore)
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex
Repairing or making sailsx

Voyage History

Date Boat From/To Miles Role # Crew Rally
2019 Outremer 55 Galapagos/Marquesas 3000 Watch-leader 7
brought to you by