Eric Van der Schilden, male, 56

Ref 48549

Nationality: Netherlands
Currently based in: Schinnen, Netherlands
Looking for: Central & North America; Mediterranean & Black Sea; West Africa & South Atlantic Islands; Western Europe & North Atlantic Islands;
Experience: 500 ocean miles / 5000 coastal miles
I have rekindled my sailing passion about 10 years ago and have been passionate about it ever since. After somewhat of a drought due to COVID I am looking for an opportunity to make longer passages.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements: Vegetarian is my preference, but I am flexible and will eat along with whatever is on he menu.
Languages: English; German; Dutch
Social Links:


Eric’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 500 / Coastal: 5000
Nights at sea: 11-49
I have experience as: Coastal Skipper
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
brought to you by