Eric Muska, male, 53

Ref 42000

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: East Lansing, United States
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 0 ocean miles / 0 coastal miles
Dear Reader, After working overseas for most of the past decade, I would like to change my career focus from automotive factory management to working in the marine, marina, boat building /maintenance field. I would also like to learn to sail and eventually become a captain. I obtained a MBA but I am still a hands-on Mechanical Engineer, skilled carpenter/cabinet maker with significant experience with metal fabrication and MIG welding. I also have some experience working with fiberglass composite molds so if needed I could help with boat hull repairs and/or full restoration. I can also complete light body, paint and mechanical work after building two frame-up custom motorcycles in my spare time. My experience with marine diesel systems diagnostics and engine rebuild is more limited, however I am very interested in learning and believe that my past experience with other commercial diesel engines has laid the ground work for me to quickly pick up the basics. I have a clean driving record with CDL (Class A/air-brake) certification. I am an all-around very handy person with a diverse set of skills, but most importantly I have a great personality that most people enjoy working with. As a Sergeant in the USMCR, I learned how to work hard as a team member, and also be a positive and involved leader, but most importantly I learned to respect others. I have a strong work ethic and take pride in everything I do. I try to do better than what I committed to, always striving to meet or exceed the expectation of my customers, colleges, friends and family expectations. If you have open crew or work positions available or maybe even create one for me, please reply so we can start discussing the details. Sincerely, Eric
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: single
Dietary requirements: None
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Eric’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: less than 1
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 0 / Coastal: 0
Nights at sea: 0
I have experience as: Instructor (Ocean Sailing)
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x
brought to you by