Diederik Meijer, male, 24

Ref 49217

Nationality: Netherlands
Currently based in: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Looking for: Caribbean; Western Europe & North Atlantic Islands;
Experience: 500 ocean miles / 250 coastal miles
Hi there sailors! I am Diederik Meijer, a 24 year or old Dutch, Mechanical Engineering student who enjoys sailing and the sea in particular! I want to make an Atlantic crossing to the Caribbean this autumn to spend the winter there, build my mileage and get more experience in offshore sailing. I am available from mid-October to somewhere in spring, but the final date is up for discussion. I can help sail, do maintenance, or anything else you need hands-on. I am a quick and eager learner, and I am not afraid to get my hands dirty and work hard. Experience: - Crew on a 40 ft Dufour 40 during a delivery from Zierikzee (the Netherlands) to Cherbourg in July. - Crew on a 42 ft C-yacht During a holiday on the Baltic Sea for 2 weeks. - Year-round teaching kids (age 8-17) sailing on inland waters on various types of boats, as well as windsurfing. Although this does not comprise offshore experience, I have learnt a great deal about the art and nature of sailing. Apart from crewing, I have spent quite some time offshore for leisure and so far, have never been seasick! I know that these experiences are limited, and I still have a lot to learn, and that is exactly what I want to accomplish with this trip! About me, I am a 24-year-old guy from the Netherlands. I am currently finishing up my masters in Offshore Engineering. After getting my degree, I want to travel around the world on a sailing yacht as I have fallen in love with the Ocean and travelling. So far, my travels have brought me to places such as Svalbard, Ecuador and Southampton and I want to keep on exploring. I love to meet new people and learn about new cultures. I am always in for a beer and good conversation, but from time to time enjoy the peace and quiet of a beautiful view and a good book. I am very adaptable to any type of social environment which is helpful on a crossing. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have a sailing opportunity, know anyone that does or have questions about me! Cheers! Diederik +31 6 36 31 05 70
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: partnered
Dietary requirements:
Languages: English; German;
Social Links:


Diederik’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 500 / Coastal: 250
Nights at sea: 11-49
I have experience as: Crew
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or relevant qualifications

Qualification Awarding Level Year
ICC Inland + Coastal waters CBR, netherlands 2022

Voyage History

Date Boat From/To Miles Role # Crew Rally
2022 Dufour 40 June 16/June 23 400 Crew 5 no
2019 C-yacht 42 ft July 1st/July 20th 350 Crew 5 no
brought to you by