David Gaffney, male, 31

Ref 48200

Nationality: Ireland
Currently based in: La Linea, Spain
Looking for: Caribbean; Central & North America; Mediterranean & Black Sea; South America; Antarctica & Sub-Antarctic Islands;
Experience: 3000 ocean miles / 400 coastal miles
I am keen to get some more sea miles under my belt in 2021. I am a flexible and easy going Irish person who from summer 2021 will be taking some time off work to spend some extended time sailing and gaining experience. I am a practical person (woodwork and metalwork are hobbies of mine) and I am willing to help out with all aspects of life on board (cooking, cleaning, standing watch etc.) I am fully vaccinated. Update I'm back from 1500 mile round trip to Iceland. Looking to head down to the Canaries across across the Atlantic next.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status:
Dietary requirements: None
Languages: English; Spanish;
Social Links:


David’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 1 to 3
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 3000 / Coastal: 400
Nights at sea: 11-49
I have experience as: Crew
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Using radarx

Voyage History

Date Boat From/To Miles Role # Crew Rally
2022 D Scotland/Iceland 1400 Crew 0
brought to you by