Dan Horan, male, 40

Ref 49145

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: Minneapolis, United States
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 500 ocean miles / 10000 coastal miles
30 years sailing experience, mostly cruising with some ocean. I've never really kept track of miles but estimate 10k+ costal and 500+ Ocean. Majority of my experience has been on the Great Lakes but I've spent a decent amount of time sailing out of South Carolina, Florida and Grand Cayman. I spent 10 years with a Tartan 372 and 5 with a Tartan 3400. I've been chartering a week or weekend at a time since - mostly newer Jeanneau but also a range of Beneteau, Island Packet, C&C and Lord Nelson. I completed ASA 104 last year to "check the box". I'm currently working on USCG Six Pack (finishing my 90 days in the past 3 years requirement) I cook, clean, sew, do basic electronics, diesel maintenance, and stand watch. I'm a non-smoker and love a social drink when circumstances and responsibilites allow. I travel light, bring all my own gear set and additional supplies as needed. I'm looking to join a crew for an Atlantic crossing - either independent, with a rally or delivery with an experienced crew. I'm willing to pay for own travel to/from destination and share any costs for the trip. I'm very flexible on timing and open to last minute opportunities (I travel for work and can be about anywhere in the world on short notice). I'm a Midwesterner at heart and get along with nearly everyone, but would love to meet the captain/crew virtually or in person prior to sailing Both sailing and character references available upon request
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements: None
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Dan’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 500 / Coastal: 10000
Nights at sea: 50+
I have experience as: Coastal Skipper
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex
Outboard engine maintenancex
Repairing or making sailsx
Using radarx

Other nautical or relevant qualifications

Qualification Awarding Level Year
104 ASA 104 2022
brought to you by