Chris Roberts, male, 61

Ref 6740

Nationality: United Kingdom
Currently based in: Cambridge, United Kingdom
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 15000 ocean miles / 10000 coastal miles
Just returned from A delivery from Scotland . I also do My own deliveries of yachts and motorboats. I have been sailing since 1967. Sailing most things, looking for a challenge. Raced up to and including world championships. Now looking for delivery work or long term cruising. Seasons of Racing Hunter Formula One's A season Racing 707 also International 6 Meters 6 world championships in International Tempests National Championships in different classes. Some of the yachts I have sailed: Moody 40, Frers 45, Bavaria 34, Hurley 22. Moody 45, Farr 56, Oceanis 43, Delher 36. Some of the areas I have sail. Europe, the Azores, the Caribbean, the Atlantic, South Pacific, Oceania and number of Channel crossings, as watch leader and skipper So far this year (2014) clocked up over 4600 sea miles and over 300 hours plus, in night watches, and with over 15000 miles and many hours on night watches in total. I have knowledge of diesel engines and I am a time served Electrical and Mechanical Engineer A little about myself, my interests and my plans I think I have done the racing thing and now looking to do long term cruising or delivery work as I have retired and looking for some sea time, before buying my own. I am up for a laugh and get on well with most people, maybe nice to take this time to learn another language. Just divorced, well two years now and looking to spend time on me and meet new people. I need to see the world and trying to combine with my love of sailing. Okay you got me; it’s an old gits gap year.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status:
Dietary requirements:
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Chris’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 15000 / Coastal: 10000
Nights at sea: 50+
I have experience as: Captain (Offshore)
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex
Outboard engine maintenancex
Repairing or making sailsx
brought to you by