Christine Kempchen, female, 48

Ref 49072

Nationality: Germany
Currently based in: Hergenrath, Belgium
Looking for: North Pacific Islands; South Indian Ocean; South Pacific Islands;
Experience: 0 ocean miles / 0 coastal miles
Hello sailors in French Polynesia and New Caledonia, My name is Christine and I am 48 years old. Languages are my passion, that is why I am speaking German, Dutch and English more or less fluently. I am also working as EU project manager at a famous German university with a focus on reducing plastic in oceans. I am a passionate outdoor lover and in my spare time I am always somewhere in nature. I love (solo) hiking, (wild) camping and exploring the world. I gained my first sailing experiences in 2005, when I was sailing with a friend and his parents on a Jeanneau Sun Odyssey in the British Virgin Islands for three weeks. After many active hiking vacations (Nepal, solo hike in the US) it is time for a more "relaxing" sailing vacation again. I just recovered from breast cancer and due to my long-term sick leave, I have left so much vacation. So perferrebly in winter 2022/2023 I am looking for a berth charter on preferrebly a catamaran to explore the South Pacific Islands (4-8 weeks, depending on availability). Is one of you looking for a crew member and would like to take me with you? I did the anchor during our BVI trip, but I also a great cook. And I also curious enough to learn more on your boat. So if you can help me to get my dream come true, please contact me! Cheers, Christine
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: single
Dietary requirements: None, I am omnivore :-)
Languages: English; German; Dutch
Social Links:


Christine’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: less than 1
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 0 / Coastal: 0
Nights at sea: 11-49
I have experience as: New to sailing
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x
brought to you by