Benjamin Connelly, male, 59

Ref 48745

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: Portland OR, United States
Looking for: Caribbean; Central & North America;
Experience: 60 ocean miles / 300 coastal miles
I am a relatively new sailor who figured out that the place I love most is on the water- I have my ASA certifications 101,103,104,105,106. I am getting open water dive certified in Jan-Mar 2022. I am looking for the chance to sail, build miles, gain experience, see how others do it, and most of all to accept that there is a ton I still don't know. I am a friendly, easy going guy with a very high mechanical aptitude. I am very computer literate and I am also good at just plain old figuring things out. I have moderate cooking skills, and decent navigation skills.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements: Allergy to Flounder, Halibut and Sole. Prefer to not eat coconut-
Languages: English; German;
Social Links:


Benjamin’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 1 to 3
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 60 / Coastal: 300
Nights at sea: 1-10
I have experience as: Crew
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex

Voyage History

Date Boat From/To Miles Role # Crew Rally
2021 41 Anacortes WA USA/Portland OR USA 300 Crew 4
brought to you by