Andrew Berisford, male, 58

Ref 47926

Nationality: United Kingdom
Currently based in: SAFFRON WALDEN, United Kingdom
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 0 ocean miles / 1660 coastal miles
I have recently retired so fully flexible on timings and looking to travel and enjoy the freedom. I have my day skipper and will be joining the Clipper 2023/24 race on legs 1,4,5,6 I sail locally at Brightlingsea on a Sprint 15 and Dart 18 and compete in the Nationals and TT's across the UK I am looking to build up experience and move to higher qualifications and experience to allow me to support the youth sailing via volunteering when i come back from Clipper in Summer 24. fit willing and able
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements: none
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Andrew’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 0 / Coastal: 1660
Nights at sea: 11-49
I have experience as: Coastal Skipper
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
brought to you by