Alexander Odell, male, 40

Ref 48716

Nationality: United Kingdom
Currently based in: London, United Kingdom
Looking for: Western Europe & North Atlantic Islands;
Experience: 1 ocean miles / 200 coastal miles
I'm a member of Greenwich Yacht Club in London, 40 years old, married with a daughter, keen sailor since 2016 and recently sold my first boat (a Corribee). Experience coastal sailing only, in US and Solent/East Coast, usually skittering my own small boat bit also crewing when I can, including the Round the Island Race. Have RYA Day Skipper theory and practical and the US equivalents (ASA 101 and 103). I've got an opportunity to have a break to sail this year between jobs. I'm level-headed, with a decent dose of humility at sea and get on well with people. Very happy to provide more information.
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements: none
Languages: English;
Social Links:


Alexander’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 4 to 9
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 1 / Coastal: 200
Nights at sea: 1-10
I have experience as: Crew
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Outboard engine maintenancex

Other nautical or relevant qualifications

Qualification Awarding Level Year
Day Skipper RYA 2021
ASA 101 and 103 ASA 2016
brought to you by