Alejandro Barbero, male, 48

Ref 46998

Nationality: United States
Currently based in: Jacksonville, United States
Looking for: Worldwide opportunities
Experience: 200 ocean miles / 5000 coastal miles
I'm 47 and have been sailing since I was 12. I raced Snipes, J24s, and different 28 to 32 ft PHRF boats. I own a Beneteau First 38 that I sail weekly with the family. I'm handy and persistent and can do electrical, mechanical, woodwork, and any type of job. I've been dreaming of crossing the Atlantic since I was 15 and now it's the time. I'm looking to crew at the ARC in January or any other crossing boat to learn so one day I can do it with my family on our boat. Help me make my dream a reality!
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: married
Dietary requirements: None
Languages: English; Spanish;
Social Links:


Alejandro’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 200 / Coastal: 5000
Nights at sea: 1-10
I have experience as: Crew
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Using VHF radiox
Diesel engine maintenancex

Voyage History

Date Boat From/To Miles Role # Crew Rally
1998 Plenamar 27 Buenos Aires, ARG/Punta del Este, URU 200 Crew 5
brought to you by