Alan O Reilly, male, 53

Ref 45082

Nationality: Ireland
Currently based in: London, United Kingdom
Looking for: Caribbean; Mediterranean & Black Sea;
Experience: 0 ocean miles / 1000 coastal miles
I’m originally from Dublin, living in London for over 30 years. I am divorced with three children all in Uni getting on very well with their own lives. I have been around boats all my life, used to sail out of Howth Yacht Club (Dublin) with my uncle when I was a kid. Since moving away from Dublin 32 years ago most of my boating has been in the Med where I have owned have a dozen different power boats over the years. I have recently left a job that I have been in for over 30 years to run my own businesses based between London and Malaga. I hope to buy my own 40 foot sailing boat over the next few months which will be based at Malaga, and I also intend commencing my journey to complete Yachtmaster Offshore qualifications hopefully in Gibraltar (COVID permitting!). Ultimately I will buy a catamaran with the intention of doing longer passages for long periods, but I anticipate that will take me a few years before I gain the experience to ensure I can do that safely. I have an engineering background which I chose to apply to the Telecommunications industry all my working life. I progressed to the highest level in my sector and up to recently had over 3500 engineers under my command. I was directly responsible for every aspect of their health & safety and general well being, which became a bit of an obsession of mine. I am blessed with extremely good health which I don’t take for granted and try my best to eat well and stay fit. Myself and my kids are very keen kitesurfers so that takes up most of our weekends. When the wind is not blowing I opt for my road bike and burn up the miles. I would relish the opportunity to join someone else’s boat for an Atlantic crossing with a view to me gaining as much knowledge as possible from an experienced skipper. I will then apply that experience to my own sailing and enjoy many years of safe boating with my family and friends. As mentioned above, safety is everything to me. Kind regards Alan
Smoking: non-smoker
Relationship status: single
Dietary requirements: No dietary restrictions
Languages: English; Spanish;
Social Links:


Alan’s Sailing Experience

Number of years sailing: 10+
Sea miles sailed: Ocean: 0 / Coastal: 1000
Nights at sea: 0
I have experience as: Crew
print
Invite this crew to
Sailing Skills Experienced
I have done this many times and am confident to help others less experienced. I am happy doing this day
Competent
I am competent doing this in daylight, or if there is someone more experienced with me
Basic
I have only done this a few times, but I am willing to learn
None
I have not done this before
Steer a compass course x
Keep lookout/watch-keeping x
Trimming sails – mainsail and foresail/jib x
Reefing x
Working the foredeck – setting sails including spinnakers and cruising chutes x
Navigating with GPS and paper charts at sea x
Anchoring and handling anchors x
Cooking at sea x
Using dinghies with outboard motors x
Heaving-to and other heavy weather tactics x

Other nautical or cruising skills

Diesel engine maintenancex
Outboard engine maintenancex
brought to you by